top of page

“Daddy, can I get the popcorn bucket? It has Infinity Man on it. And we never go to the movies. Please Daddy?”

Dave looked down into his wallet. He had one five dollar bill left after the tickets. It was meant to be his money for the next days lunch, but he decided he would just take a sandwich from home.

“Sure, that’ll be fine.”

He handed the money to the cinema worker and watched the wonder in his son’s eyes as the liquid butter cascaded from the fountain and into the bucket.

“Dave? Is that you?”

Dave turned around to see a beautiful woman in a tight red dress with heels taller than he could estimate. As he studied her a bit more the memories flooded back. She danced back and forth on her feet just as she had years ago when they were together. While the years had been less kind to him, it looked as if she hadn’t aged a day. She beamed at him from across the lobby. Dave clumsily unlatched the brakes on his son, Marty’s, wheelchair and made his way through the crowd to where she was standing. For being the most run down theater it town, The Seventh Street Theater was always packed on discount Tuesdays. Standing in front of the aging movie posters was Dave’s high school sweetheart, Valerie. Her blonde curls bounced with each word she whispered to the man she was with, her lips practically dripping lipstick.

“Dave how many years has it been? Seven, Eight?”

“We just had our tenth year reunion, so I’d say maybe a bit.”

“Oh my gosh, Dave! Is this your son?”

“Yeah, this is Marty.”

“I remember reading the stories in the paper. The ones about the accident. I didn’t realize he was so handsome. He looks just like you!”

“Thanks,” Marty said as he shyly backed his chair away a bit. He fidgeted with the wheels whenever he was uncomfortable.

“Baby, I’m going to go find us a seat. You can come find me whenever you’re finished.”

After an over the top display of public affection, he grabbed her rear and headed off towards the theaters. The way he walked seemed familiar somehow, but Dave couldn’t place it. He was friends with a lot of creeps before he turned his life around.

“Who is that guy?” he whispered once the man was out of earshot.

“You don’t recognize him? You two used to be best friends. Practically brothers. You really don’t keep in touch with home much do you?”

“There’s a lot back there I’d like to forget. Besides I have a new life here. I’m not the same guy I used to be.”

“Speaking of new life, where’s that darling wife of yours?”

“Terrah’s working late. Gotta make ends meet. I work during the day and she does overnights. But she’s good.”

“As long as you’re happy Davey, even if we do all miss you.”

Happy. The word echoed through Dave’s mind. He tried. He tried desperately to be happy, but life just wasn’t quite what he thought it would be. He never saw his wife. If he wasn’t working, he was taking care of his disabled son. It wasn’t Marty’s fault, but it got hard sometimes. Sometimes he looked back and wondered if he made the right decision. History has a way of romanticizing itself. It was hard for him to juggle what were the good times and what was “the grass is always greener” syndrome. Terrah was everything that Valerie wasn’t. Valerie was the party girl, Terrah was the bookworm, Valerie wore dresses and heels, Terrah wore jeans, Valerie was unfaithful, Terrah was. That was it. Dave looked down at Marty and could see that his son knew his mind was rifting elsewhere.

“Well I should probably get going. The movie is about to start. But it was nice seeing you again Davey.”

“Yeah you too, Val.”

She wrapped her arms around his neck just like she used to and playfully kissed his cheek.

“Goodbye now. It was nice meeting you Matty.”

“It’s Marty,” he said under his breath, but she was too far away. The two watched her make her way down the hall and out of sight.

“Dad, I need to go to the bathroom before the movie starts.”

“Sure let’s go. Do you need any help?”

“Yeah. Mom made me wear the belt today that always gives me trouble.”

Dave wheeled his son into the big stall and helped him undo his belt. He stepped out and let Marty position himself on the toilet using the stall’s handles. Dave waited outside the stall scrolling through his news feed until he heard Marty whimper. Marty was desperately trying not to let his dad hear him cry, but he just couldn’t hold it back.

“I’m sorry Dad.”

“For what Marty?” Dave put his phone away and listened at the door. “Is everything ok?”

“No! I’m sorry I’m in this stupid chair and I’m sorry I’m nine years old and can’t go to the bathroom alone, and I’m sorry I make your life so hard and because of all my surgeries Mom has to work and is never home. I’m sorry Dad.”

Dave couldn’t breathe. He sank down to the floor with his back to the stall door. “Son have I ever made you feel that way? We don’t resent you. I’m your dad and I love you.”

“But I saw the way you looked at that lady. Your life with her would have been better, wouldn’t it have?”

“Not even close. That’s why we didn’t work out. I was a different person. Not a good one. I changed and my priorities changed. Valerie left me because I didn’t want to live the way she lived. I wanted a family. I wanted you. Yeah it’s hard sometimes, but every family has struggles. Your mom and I love you very much! Now come on outa there. We’ve gotta get in to see Infinity Man!”

Marty opened the door and Dave rose to his feet to help his son. When they returned to the lobby, there standing in line to get a ticket was a beautiful woman with her hair in a messy bun, still wearing nurses scrubs.

“Mom!” Marty yelled.

She turned and waved to them as she payed for her ticked. Joining them she embraced Dave in a passionate kiss and the three of them made their way to theater seven.

Recent Posts

See All

Back In Time

Man, it’s just like I remember it. The front door with the red paint peeling off. That one step we avoided because the cement cracked and...

Stranded

“Is this recording? Ok lights on. Yeah! It is day thirty-eight.” “No, Jirok, it’s thirty-six.” “No, Niz, we agreed to include the days we...

Comments


bottom of page