top of page

Man, it’s just like I remember it. The front door with the red paint peeling off. That one step we avoided because the cement cracked and wobbled. Our black cat sparks sitting in the window. They didn’t explain the science to me, but I was selected for a psychology experiment on perspective by the University of New York. Is this real, or is it all in my head? It could be an illusion or virtual reality, but it feels so real. Here he comes. I need to stay in character.


“You called for a cab Mr. Waters?”


“Yes. Could you please put my bags in the trunk for me? I need to double check one last thing in the house.”


He came back in the house to look at me before he left.


“JFK?”


“Yeah, but you can take the long way. My flight doesn’t leave for a while. I want to see the city.”


“Any place in particular?”


“Yeah would you take me to the park on 25th street?”


“Sure.”


We drove in silence. I didn’t want to prod, I was told not to, but part of the experiment was to get some answers.


“Will you need a ride once you return to the city? Our cab service would be more than happy to serve you again.”


“I’m afraid I don’t think I’ll be returning to this beautiful city. My flights one way.”


“But wasn’t that your family you were saying goodbye to back there?”


“Yes, but they’re going to be better off. It’s too dangerous for me to stay.”


Too dangerous? What did that mean? Mom always told us he was cheating.


“We’re coming up on the park. Should I stop so you can get out for a minute?”


“No thank you. It would be too hard for me. I just wanted to see it one more time before the memories go. I need to keep it together though. My son loves this park.”


“How old?”


“He’s seven. His names Tommy.”


“Why not take him with you?”


“I can’t. His mother has already reported me for abduction. I can’t risk another strike. I need to make a clean break. But God I’m going to miss him.”


“I’m sure he’ll miss you too. Will you still see him? Holidays and stuff.”


“I’ll try, but the money is all gone. I had been saving. I had money for him to come visit me soon, but I owed the wrong people. They came for it. That’s why I’m leaving. I can’t let him get hurt for my mistakes.”


“Does he know that?”


“No. He’s too young. I don’t want him to know. His mother told him that I’m looking for a new wife to start a new family with. He hates me now. I don’t think he’d come even if I had the money.”


“Where are you going to anyway?”


“California. I have some family out there. But if you’ll excuse me sir, I’d really like to finish driving in silence. I want to remember everything about the city.”


So that’s what we did. I drove, and he stared out the window for the rest of the ride. I saw a tear in his eyes fall here and there. I let a couple out myself. Why hadn’t he just told me the truth?


Why hadn’t Mom told me the truth? I would have gone to see him. I could have spent more time with him before he died. Those are things I’ll never get back.


We pulled under the awning at the terminal and I stepped out to help him with his bags. He was more of a business type so it was customary. He looked at me and shook my hand.


“Bye Da… hagh… Mr. Waters. Good day.”


“You too, sir. Here’s a little extra for listening.”


He handed me a twenty, and I watched him disappear into the flourishing crowd. He was gone, and the experiment was over. I’d wake up soon back in 2018. I’d be in the bed at the university. I still don’t know if this is real or if this is something that was cooked up in my own subconscious, but I’ll choose to believe I went back in time.

Recent Posts

See All

Stranded

“Is this recording? Ok lights on. Yeah! It is day thirty-eight.” “No, Jirok, it’s thirty-six.” “No, Niz, we agreed to include the days we...

The Panterian Chronicles

The princess Sir, won’t you bring the moon closer, A tale I might have to tell, Of a night when the world slept colder, The eve...

Commenti


bottom of page