top of page

Two years ago we sat at this bench, Your eyes glued to the ground. I was leaving, you knew, done fighting with you. There was nothing left to say.

On the balls of my feet, the rocking and creaks Of the bridge we walked on. I held you one last time and I looked through your eyes, But ‘I’m sorry’ was all I could say.

Leaving our place for what I thought the last time, Memories flooded over me. Beasts in a cage, wrong and right in my brain, Heart nor mind would concede.

Looking back on that day, there was more to say, Like ‘I forgive you’ or ‘let’s just move on.’ On principle I took the stand and I left, Unsure as I made every choice.

It was the bench, It was always the bench, I could see it even in dreams. Our place called out to me, a light house at sea, So there I went to pray.

I drove as if, every mile were ten, My feet ached. Our first kiss, a proposal, your head on my shoulder, How could I return to the pain?

Recent Posts

See All

The Panterian Chronicles

The princess Sir, won’t you bring the moon closer, A tale I might have to tell, Of a night when the world slept colder, The eve...

The Sky Is None But Yours

They tell me there’s no heaven for you But I saw it in a dream Standing at your resting place Just over the field and stream I know I...

Rust Puddles

Rust puddles in the trunk of my car An old guitar in the back seat Nothing holds her together now But her wildest hopes and dreams...

Comments


bottom of page